Monroe district honors support staff members of the year

Christopher Lang, Correspondent, @topherlang2, Feb 28, 2018 | MonroeNow

Ten Monroe Township School District employees were honored by the district administration as the top support staff members of the year.

During the Feb. 21 Board of Education meeting, each member was individually recognized by Superintendent Michael Kozak, who also presented them with a plaque.

“It’s an honor and a pleasure to be able to recognize some of our staff members who work throughout the district,” Kozak said. “What makes Monroe Township School District a great district is really the staff that are involved in the school district.”

Award Winners

The Monroe Township School District handed out support staff members of the year awards to 10 employees during its February Board of Education meeting.

Employee Position Area
Maria Felice Paraprofessional Oak Tree
Brian Barry Security Mill Lake
Susan Mazor Secretary Facilities District
Robert Nakash Mechanic Transportation
Francine Wilden Paraprofessional Brookside
William McLaughlin Lead Custodian Applegarth
Nikki Park Paraprofessional Barclay Brook
John Painter Security Woodland
Darlene Rossano Paraprofessional High School
Edward Malkiewicz Lead Custodian MTMS


One by one, the recipients accepted their award in front of the audience who gave each individual a round of applause.

“We consider everyone who that works in the district, no matter what their position, to contribute to the education of our children in some manner or another,” Kozak said, “or just to contribute to make this a great learning environment to our students and staff and community.”

Later in the meeting, during the public comment section, several residents while discussing policy and education matters also took the time to heap praise on the support staff members who were recognized.

One person noted the importance of recognizing the security staff given the district’s increased focus on campus safety.

“I’d like to congratulate the educational support staff of the year,” said board President Kathy Kolupanowich. “As Dr. Kozak said, everyone of our employees has a piece to the Monroe Township School District and without anyone of them, if we didn’t have everyone one of them we wouldn’t be as great as we are.